≡ Menu

Planetary Movements


A planet’s revolution is the time taken by a planet to complete its orbit across the Zodiac.

On certain days the actual motions are slightly less or more. This is due to the fact that the planets while revolving round the Sun, owing to cosmic influences, become somewhat irregular in their movements.

The planets time taken for revolution around the Rashi Chakra (Zodiac Sign).

  • Surya (Sun) – 365.2422 days (12 months approx.)
  • Chandra (Moon) – 27.32 days
  • Mangala (Mars) – 1.9 years
  • Budha (Mercury) – 87.97 days
  • Guru (Jupiter) – 11.86 years
  • Shukra (Venus) – 224.70 days
  • Shani (Saturn) – 29.46 years
  • Rahu (North Node) – 1.5 years
  • Ketu (South Node) – 1.5 years
  • Uranus – 84.02 years
  • Neptune – 164.77 years
  • Pluto – 248.42 years

The time taken by planets for revolution around the sun

These planets move in orbits, which are elliptical.

The planets are at certain times farther from the Sun, when they are stated to be in their aphelion.

The point of the orbit when they are nearest to the Sun is called the perihelion.

At aphelion, the planets have slower motions, while at perihelion, their movement is faster than their average speed.

Mercury, which is fast moving, is very close to the Sun. It often becomes retrograde and its movement very unsteady. Mercury moves within a range of 28° from the Sun. Rahu and Ketu invariably move in reverse direction. This movement is called retrogression.

The Sun and the Moon are never retrograde. They have only direct motions. The Moon is the nearest to the Earth and exercises considerable influence on life on this planet.

With such different motions, a Graha has varied aspects with other planets. In Predictive Astrology, the inter-planetary longitudinal distances of the planets play an important role for the prediction of effects. Details (of astronomical nature) of stars have to be understood by general rules.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: